Science & Scripture

An open letter to scientists and scripture readers;

           May it first be said that I have learned to restrain my opinions in the public forum, especially when I don’t know the full story. The online world works incredibly fast and we cannot comprehend the reach of our words whether for good intent or ill. However, this is intended to get my thoughts out of my brain and into the world somehow. I don’t mean to offend, hurt, sow trouble, or deliberately ruffle anyone’s feathers, but this is how I see it.

           I’ve got a bee in my bonnet lately about science. I’ve got another bee sitting very close to the other one about scripture, and they are currently not speaking to each other. The Science bee says that ‘there is no god’ and that science is the way for humanity to move forward into the future, wearing his lab coat and living in an ‘enlightened state’ because he is not weighed down by the detritus of religion by looking towards a future filled with hope. The Scripture bee is sitting down to pray for his family and the food he is about to enjoy. He tries to be a good hard working bee, attends bee-church most of the time, and wishes he read his bee-bible (‘Bee-ble?’) more than he does. He doesn’t claim to know a lot about science or the how the Universe operates in great detail, but he’s certain that the Bible is the inspired word of God and takes what it says about how the world (and he) came into being to heart. He doesn’t know exactly how, but he knows that he disagrees with the science bee and this ‘evolution’ concept. So there we have it, the science bee thinks there’s no place for scripture in the scientific forum and the scripture bee disagrees with what the science bee says about the nature of the observable universe. This is now where they start to irritate me.

           Here’s what I want to know: Is there a place for science to be discussed openly in a Christian setting? Can scripture ever be discussed in a scientific setting and context? Where do the people of the world lie on this conversation?

           People look at the world with a ‘worldview’; seems pretty obvious when it’s put that way. It’s the lens through which we observe the world and everything in it, and by extension how we feel about it. Like the ‘bees’ from earlier I’ve been focusing on the people that think in the ways I mentioned.  I think about them because I feel a weight on my mind about all of them. I feel uniquely placed and gifted to be able to speak with all of them on both sides of the issue, but I don’t know how. I was born and raised in a Christian home, but I have a scientific mind and a mechanical engineering degree – and I’ve noticed there doesn’t seem to be a lot of overlap.

          I know that there are many people that are more than qualified than myself to discuss this issue. Anyone who saw the Bill Nye/Ken Ham debate can attest to that. I’m glad those debates exist though, I really am! However, it was something I saw after the debate that troubled me and started this whole thing. A reporter asked people from both sides of the debate to write a question for the ‘other side’ down on a piece of paper, and that’s when I got mad. These people had just watched a HUGE debate on the science vs. scripture issue, but the questions they had for the other side showed an almost complete lack of understanding of what the other side was even fighting for.

          A selection of the questions is pictured below – and all have been sourced from their original publishing on Buzzfeed.

Disclaimer: these questions originated from BF’s website under the headings of “22 Messages For Creationists From People Who Believe In Evolution” and “22 Messages From Creationists To People Who Believe In Evolution”

Evolutionists

Creationists

 “How do you explain the fossil record and the established science of geology? (As a young earth creationist)” “Is it completely illogical that the Earth was created mature? i.e. trees created with rings/Adam created as an adult.”
 “What’s with all the raping and pillaging, God?” “If evolution is a theory (like creationism or the Bible) why then is evolution taught as fact?”
 “How did Noah’s Ark stay afloat even with termites on the Ark?”  “If we come from monkeys then why are there still monkeys?”

 

          See what I mean? The questions posted here are some of the ones that got me the most rankled, and there are many more topics and opinions covered in Buzzfeed’s original posts than here, but even these questions ruffle my brain feathers. Proponents of “science” seem to know little to nothing about professed and studied scripture and Christians know the same amount about the scientific concepts that the scientists are promoting. The evolutionists think that “god” is a total jerk who causes pain and suffering on the world for fun, and Christians think that scientists are just a bunch of arrogant jerks that are trying pull the wool over the eyes of people who don’t know better. The Nye/Ham debate is great and grown up, but I feel like the rest of us are in the streets just fighting with each other and calling each other silly names.

          I want to help bridge this gap as much as I can, but I don’t know where to start! I have very limited knowledge of the vast expanses of both categories.  There’s a lot of science out there presented in different ways, and some say the same can be said for the Bible. However, I believe that God is all truth, and will reveal all truth in His own time. The truth is out there and I’m just trying to find it and I hope I can help anyone along the way. So pray for me if you would, I don’t know where this path leads or what lies along the way, I just know that I need to try my best to make an impact for the Kingdom of God in the Earth.

Leave a Reply

